What's new

PDQ 4000 still a good machine?

Greg Pack

Wash Weenie
Reaction score
Hey Guys, I'm closing on a 4/2 that's been shut down several years. They have two PDQ 4000s with virtual treadles, gatlin gunners, and stand alone dryer stands. I really hadn't planned on starting them back up, but thought I would ask what the general consensus is. I have zero experience with them. I've heard some people say they're complex, but others say they're very simple and reliable. The easy thing might to be get these guys going but I think it might be important for customers to see something different too. Any input from owners? Is support still readily available? Thanks

I.B. Washincars

Car Washer Emeritus
Reaction score
If it's been shut down for several years, something running will be something different. When it comes to an inverted L machine, I don't think a customer can tell the difference between a Laser 4000 or a Wizzy Wash 6000. Now, if you replace them with a friction or gantry style machine they may notice, but will they actually care? I say get them running and start making money.

I'm saying this under the assumption that they haven't been frozen and have all the issues that brings.

washnshine

Reaction score
I agree with I. B. If you get the two Lasers clean and up and running with good chemicals and spruce up the overall appearance of the wash, you will get customers. Down the road if one is reaching the end of its usable service time, you can replace it with a soft touch and serve both markets. By the time the second Laser goes, you will really know what your customers want and buy accordingly. Always nice not to have to replace two machines at once. If you find you have to replace one machine right away, go with the soft touch and start off serving both markets. Hopefully you can get some mileage out of one, if not both of the lasers.

Greg Pack

Wash Weenie
Reaction score