What's new

Newbie Needs Help On Evaluating An Opportunity

Jengah

Reaction score
Hi All -

I'm new to the business, but wanted to get into it for years. An opportunity has come up by me and here's what it looks like. Can I get some feedback, please.

The wash details:
- (6) bay SS
- (2) IBs (one RYKO, one D&S 5000)
- built in 2006
- Town population of 35,000, w/ two other washes in town.
- Gross Sales $340,000
- Expenses of $90,000

The opportunity:
- owner is going to keep the land
- wants to sell the "business" for $500,000
- wants to lease the land and equipment (not triple net) for $18,000/month

To me, what he is asking is out of whack, not so much for the asking price, but for the $18K/month lease. At that rate, it would take a buyer 7 years just to break even without even considering a single other expense or tax. Seems to me a lease should be based off of the total square footage of the land, plus the value of the improvements, building and equipment.

Can anyone shed some light on:
a.) the deal at face value
b.) what a reasonable and fair deal should look like with the above P&L
c.) any advice on making this sort of deal and any deal tips.

Thanks

robert roman

Bob Roman
Reaction score
My advice is to get someone with experience in carwash buy/sell transactions to help you.

For example, I begin by applying maximum allowable payment (MAP) as sanity test.

MAP = NOI / 12 months / 1.5

$340,000 less $90,000 expenses is $250,000 less $216,000 rent is $34,000 less $6,000 property tax (assumed) is $28,000 less $3,000 insurance (assumed) is $25,000 NOI.

MAP = $25,000 / 12 / 1.5

MAP = $1,390

“….wants to sell the "business" for $500,000”

MAP says the price for “business only” would have to be less than $74,000 for the deal to make financial sense.

The sanity test indicates the seller needs a reality check.

Business owners usually will “pad” the asking price for the business by 10 to 15 percent well aware that they won’t get the full price.