What's new

New to the forum - Truck wash questions

Trey W

Reaction score
I had a couple questions on opening up a truck wash location (blue beacon style). I am kind of new to the car wash/SS type of industry. I currently own a pressure washing/mobile fleet washing business. I know the in's and out's of truck washing with chems/equipment etc..

Anyone have any tips on running one and/or any good threads to refer to on this subject?

MudMoney

Reaction score
You need to supply more info,location, stand alone,lease ground,etc.

robert roman

Bob Roman
Reaction score
Here is an excerpt from one of the industry books I use to sell. Hope this helps a little.

On the road wash bays are most always located near truck stops on major highways. According to National Association of Truck Stop Operators, less than 30 percent of all truck stops have wash bays.

Convenience is the major factor when trucks are washed. If the truck is "working," it is not convenient. Trucks are more often washed before or after their run or in conjunction with maintenance.

Hand washing is by far-and-away the most acceptable commercial wash standard for trucks. This means the result is "clean & shiny" and dries without spots or streaks.

Trailers are not usually washed by hand. Since there are many types of trailers the standards vary. Most companies have lower standards for trailers than trucks. Brokers have higher standards than company drivers.

How much a company or owner pays to wash their trucks is driven by how much they value image. In general, this is the one issue on which most companies and owner operators agree; the best wash for the least amount of money.

Ultimately, the size, type of vehicle and convenience factor will dictate the wash method used and the cost involved. The costs listed below are for a tractor and trailer combination.