What's new

MiFi Internet

Roz

Active member
Joined
Oct 29, 2017
Messages
379
Reaction score
33
Points
28
Location
MD
Is anyone using cellular internet to run their car wash (SS/IBA)? Our provider Comcast is terrible but we have no options. Each time they push out a firmware update at 1-2AM it knocks out the internet service until someone physically power cycles the modem. It is hurting the business and they have been useless in trying to solve the problem for the past year since we installed their service. Now looking at cellular solutions like a Mifi however hard to find good info on the service.
 

cooll903

Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2020
Messages
58
Reaction score
17
Points
8
Location
Illinois
is there an option in the router to auto restart everyday? or you can have a computer hardwired to the network with some remote software like teamviewer and you can login to the router and restart it but you would have to be up late or really early to do it. also make sure that you have a static ip and not an ip that is provided by dhcp from your isp. servers and the like hate it when the public ip changes.
 

Roz

Active member
Joined
Oct 29, 2017
Messages
379
Reaction score
33
Points
28
Location
MD
Unfortunately a SW reboot is not possible. When I call Comcast they try to do such a reboot but then tell me to power cycle the modem before they will have a tech support person talk to me. They are useless.

I am considering using a mechanical timer to turn off the power to the modem at 6AM each morning for 15 min (smallest amount of time on the mechanism). Comcast is not consistent on the morning firmware update which adds to the puzzle. I cannot use a wifi controlled socket as I lose internet so I would not be able to turn back on the power - unless there is a wifi socket that is in the ON mode if it loses internet service (have not found such a socket).

Will keep looking at cellular data solutions so I can dump Comcast. Crazy thing is that my comcast modem at my other wash has not been rebooted in 3 years.
 

Overachiever

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2014
Messages
241
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Location
IL
Do you need to use the Comcast modem? Usually you can provide your own and reduce your bill by not renting from them. I had a lot of issues with their equipment but once I bought my own it's been bulletproof.
 

MEP001

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
12,190
Reaction score
590
Points
113
Location
Texas
I helped a guy set up his Cryptopay using the method here. He's been running it for about four years with no issues. He only has his Cryptopay on it.
 

DavidM

Active member
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Messages
429
Reaction score
25
Points
28
Location
PA
I have been though the same issues with our DSL provider over the last couple years. There are some devices that can help. One is an outlet that automatically power cycles if the connection to the internet is lost. The functionality is called auto-ping. If you have a land line, there is a device that you can call into through the landline and power cycle whatever is plugged into it.

I know this only fixes a symptom but in areas where there is only one ISP, we are stuck dealing with these issues.

This one is may be more complicated than required ...... https://www.amazon.com/Web-Power-Sw...t2&qid=1600346868&s=industrial&sr=1-1-catcorr

If you have a land line ....
 

cooll903

Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2020
Messages
58
Reaction score
17
Points
8
Location
Illinois
I have been though the same issues with our DSL provider over the last couple years. There are some devices that can help. One is an outlet that automatically power cycles if the connection to the internet is lost. The functionality is called auto-ping. If you have a land line, there is a device that you can call into through the landline and power cycle whatever is plugged into it.

I know this only fixes a symptom but in areas where there is only one ISP, we are stuck dealing with these issues.

This one is may be more complicated than required ...... https://www.amazon.com/Web-Power-Sw...t2&qid=1600346868&s=industrial&sr=1-1-catcorr

If you have a land line ....
you can build that cheaper with a raspberry pi. https://www.raspberrypi.org/products/raspberry-pi-zero/


12 bucks and 15 minutes
 

DavidM

Active member
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Messages
429
Reaction score
25
Points
28
Location
PA
Rarely is building your own solution cheaper unless your time is free. The link to "auto reboot if connection lost" is to reboot the raspberry pi if it loses its connection. In order to power cycle another device, you would need some additional hardware. I know it can be done, but not for $12 and in 15 minutes, at least for me.

There are some cheaper, simpler devices than what I shared that would do this too. The one I linked to is probably overkill for most people.
 

Dave in IL

New member
Joined
Oct 9, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Points
3
We use a Verizon jet pack to run our cryptopay and our Unitec WSII. The cellular is much more reliable than the service we had through our phone/cable company. Seems like every time someone ran into a pole within a 3 state area our service would be down for 3 days. None of that with the cellular. Every once in a while I do have to re-start it, don't know why. The original jet pack we had had a tendency to overheat but Verizon replaced it free. We are happy with the set up and it saved us a bunch of money and headaches.
 

washnvac

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
867
Reaction score
23
Points
18
Location
Seaford, DE
Put a little digital timer on the power supply to the modem. Have it power down for 1 minute at 5 a.m.; there- it is reset. (instead of 15 minutes from mechanical timer)
 
Top