What's new

IBA Dryer Option Competing With Tunnel Washes' Cheaper Washes Including a Dryer?

Carl

Reaction score
Sometimes a new customer will come by and purchase a touch free wash that has no dryer and then will complain that "our dryer is not working." They do not see our menu sign which lists the dryer as only on our top-of-the-line wash. We apologize for their not seeing the sign and turn on the dryer for them manually hoping we do not end up losing a potential new customer but I cringe knowing that my tunnel washes competition have a dryer on their $5.00 Wash!

For us IBA guys, how do you differentiate your washes without putting the dryer option on such a cheap wash, the $5.00 Wash...or do you? I have seen many a customer who complains about getting a wash without a dryer and when we explain it's only on our most expensive wash, you can tell in their face and their march that they are never coming back so I am studying this issue to decide how to react to this without devaluing our top-of-the-line wash which is our most popular wash by far.

My four Water Wizard 1.0 washes from cheapest to most expensive are:

Wash & Rinse
Wash & Wax (no triple foam)
Deluxe Wash (everything the Super Wash has EXCEPT the dryer...has triple foam but the other two cheaper washes do not)
Super Wash (same as the Deluxe Wash but INCLUDES the dryer)

Thanks,

Carl

rph9168

Carwashguy
Reaction score
Most of the washes I am familiar with only exclude the dryer on the basic package and several include it on all. A lot depends on what is available on competitive washes. I don't recall seeing one that only offered it on the top wash.

If those are the only options available on your machine I would add the dryer to the Wash & Wax and call it the Deluxe Wash eliminating the old Wash and Wax bringing you to three packages. I would then raise the price on the middle package.

Just a suggestion.

BBE

Reaction score