What's new

Hydrominder Inlet Screen

Earl Weiss

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Messages
5,343
Reaction score
124
Points
63
For too many years I would try to remove screen to clean it often damaging the screen or washer. Now, I disconnect the inlet hose and unscrew the valve or nipple from the hydrominder - whatever comes off more easily. hen I simply blow compressed air thru it in the opposite direction of the normal water flow. Much easier and no damage.
 

OurTown

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 8, 2017
Messages
1,557
Reaction score
138
Points
63
Location
Dayton, Ohio
On my list of projects is removing those screens and installing a mesh strainer instead.
 

OurTown

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 8, 2017
Messages
1,557
Reaction score
138
Points
63
Location
Dayton, Ohio
I was thinking of a larger one on the feed line to all of them but that works too.
 

MEP001

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
12,000
Reaction score
507
Points
113
Location
Texas
I was thinking of a larger one on the feed line to all of them but that works too.
I'd recommend a whole house filter mounted on the wall. There are probably filters of the style 2Biz used that are more sturdy, but the ones he pictured break easily especially if the filter bowl has been overtightened. Or the screen itself is so small it clogs up quickly and there's no clear bowl to see if it's clogged. With my luck and his setup, something would fall over and break them.
 

mjwalsh

6 bay SS w/laundromat
Joined
Sep 7, 2007
Messages
2,486
Reaction score
52
Points
48
Location
North Dakota
I'd recommend a whole house filter mounted on the wall. There are probably filters of the style 2Biz used that are more sturdy, but the ones he pictured break easily especially if the filter bowl has been overtightened. Or the screen itself is so small it clogs up quickly and there's no clear bowl to see if it's clogged. With my luck and his setup, something would fall over and break them.
I still have some Brass Spraying Systems Inline Filters the size of 2Biz's in my parts inventory. Our previous pre-1987 self service setup had them so they are a bit on the old side ... but they are probably still more durable than the more vulnerable plastic ones. Don't let any careless maniacs in your back room if you can help it ... not that I am implicating anyone in particular.
 
Last edited:

2Biz

Thread Killer!
Joined
Nov 22, 2010
Messages
2,294
Reaction score
39
Points
48
Location
Ohio
I agree with the comments about SMC's not being the "Best" inline filter...Especially the female ones! They tend to split out if tightened too far...The male end on the filters are much stronger and I've never had an issue with the bowl or a leak in the male threads...The original MarkVII equipment had this style filter installed on the inlet hose to the HP pump. Was installed 30+ years and no issues...

My manifold design limited how I put the filters in...Although, I would think twice about daisy chaining the water supply. If one two or three hydrominders call for water at the same time, pressure is greatly decreased....Here is a picture of my manifold...Also allowing for maintenance on any of the 4 hydrominders with the inline ball valves without shutting down the others......

 

Earl Weiss

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Messages
5,343
Reaction score
124
Points
63
There are probably filters of the style 2Biz used that are more sturdy, but the ones he pictured break easily especially if the filter bowl has been overtightened. .
Yep, my experience as well. I hope 2 biz keeps spares on hand.
 

2Biz

Thread Killer!
Joined
Nov 22, 2010
Messages
2,294
Reaction score
39
Points
48
Location
Ohio
I have been using this style for about 10 years now and the original equipment used them, probably 30+ years. Never an issue at least in the last 10 years.....Why would you want to over tighten the bowl? It has an o'ring seal....Hand tighten is all that's necessary....It's also possible pressure might play a role...My system pressure is only 40 psi...Some locations can be much higher...

BTW, yes I have spares! I have spares of everything at the wash! LOL...Who doesn't?!?!
 

MEP001

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
12,000
Reaction score
507
Points
113
Location
Texas
I like the design and I'd probably use them if I knew I'd be the only one to touch them, but the vast majority of work I do is on other washes. I wish I'd documented every dumb thing I've seen done, a lot by other "techs" who the wash owner paid to screw up their stuff.
 

2Biz

Thread Killer!
Joined
Nov 22, 2010
Messages
2,294
Reaction score
39
Points
48
Location
Ohio
I use the same SMC filter on the TF tanks. Been installed 8-9 years. I do have only one installed in line, the hose is daisy chained. But the TF system only fills one tank 99% of the time.

 

Earl Weiss

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Messages
5,343
Reaction score
124
Points
63
I had many of the claer bowl strainers go bad. Could be because they were in the tunnel or Shampooer where there were wide temperature swings that took their toll. Went to these - no failure . https://www.mcmaster.com/y-strainer
 

Greg Pack

Wash Weenie
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
2,774
Reaction score
243
Points
63
Location
Hoover, Alabama
Banjo sells a wide assortment of line of both T and wye strainers that are rated at 150 psi. They don't have a clear bowl though. I just bought some to install on the Istobals. They feel a lot more durable than the SS strainers. Zoro stocks them.

 

Noob

Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
104
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
TN
Would a filter on the main water supplying the wash be adequate for preventing clogging or do you need the individual strainers? I currently have neither one.
 

Earl Weiss

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Messages
5,343
Reaction score
124
Points
63
Would a filter on the main water supplying the wash be adequate for preventing clogging or do you need the individual strainers? I currently have neither one.
Depends on Factors. If you have a setup where all hydrominders are near each other fed by a single water line, then just ut a large strainer on the line at that point and Branch off from there. In 2 Biz Photo above if you had a 1 inch llne you could just use a single one inch strainer instead of the 3 smaller ones in the photo. Closer to the point of use is best because crud magically appears downstream
 

MEP001

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
12,000
Reaction score
507
Points
113
Location
Texas
I agree, I'd put either a large strainer or a whole house filter on the line that feeds the Hydrominders. It will also prevent debris or broken-down resin from the softener from causing problems.
 

Noob

Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
104
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
TN
What # micron filter would you recommend
 

MEP001

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
12,000
Reaction score
507
Points
113
Location
Texas
The smaller the better, 5 micron should be more than fine enough and will last longer than a 1. I get a lot of really fine silt in the holding tank for the high pressure pumps, so I'd probably use a 1.
 
Top