What's new

Full service hand wash purchase

jjordan1984

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the industry and wanted to get everyone's thoughts.

There is a full service hand wash and detail center 2 blocks from my house and my office (i live close to work) for sale. It was one bay with a conveyor and air dryers at the end.

The business does roughly $400-500k/year in EBITDA on 1.4mn in revenues ($600k/yr memberships) and the asking price is $2.3mn. There is no real estate included and it has a 20 year lease. The current owners (3 partners) are in their 70s and selling off the various businesses they own.

I live in a wealthy small coastal city in socal and there are 2 full service competitors in town. There are 2 self serves and 2 gas station washes. All of them are in different parts of the city and i'm almost certain no new competition will come to the market as it is nearly impossible to get anything built here and we have a water shortage, so a car wash is last on the list.

I walk by this place every single day, so i know it does a good business. I have a full time job, but my job is extremely flexible. I'm in the investment industry, so as long as i perform, nobody cares. I can easily leave the office at any time to check on things, but i don't want to spend all day there long term.

My questions:
I know nobody likes the full service handwash model on this forum. How bad is it to manage employees? The wash has a manager. Customers in my city like the hand wash model. 60%+ of the cars are luxury cars.

The yelp reviews for this handwash and the other 2 in town are pretty bad. Lots of complaints about damage to the vehicle. I look at this as a huge opportunity to improve quality. Am I delusional for thinking that it should be pretty easy to avoid touching the car with anything that isnt a towel or mitt? Maybe i'm underestimating how dumb employees can be. Wondering how common this is for others.