What's new

Fighting the Freeze During Winter

Old 66 Car Wash

Reaction score
Hi All! I am very new to the car wash game. Bought my first one just over a month ago. It is located in the mountains just outside of Albuquerque, NM. The temps are dropping and I am wondering how everyone keeps their systems from freezing during the winter. My system is pretty fortified out to the bays but how do you keep the hoses from freezing up? I do have a self operated wet weeping system in place. Should I just leave the bays dripping at night or try to drain each hose before I leave?

JMMUSTANG

car wash owner
Reaction score
Test your drip system.
I get a bucket with ice and water,
Put the outside probes in the bucket of ice water and see what temperature the drip starts dripping out each gun and bubble brushes.
I add more ice to the bucket, to get the water colder. Your drip starts coming out for a longer time as it gets colder.
As it gets colder the drip should spray out your guns longer. Check all guns and brushes each time.

soapy

Reaction score
Get a WEEP Miser ASAP. It will turn on the weep system as needed and pulses the water depending on temps. It will pay for itself in a short time. You can weep the foam brush or add methenol based soap. I mix my own adding methenil so that final dilution ends up as needed. 10% methenol is good to 25, 20% good to 10 and 30% is good to 0. Monday I had a low temperature of 1.

David Rolf

Reaction score
Two things that helped us when first purchased was we found out optional heaters were available for the bill changer and just plugged in. Another item was the old owner had unplugged the line heater in the hose trough which keeps the lines warm. Other than the weep suggestions keep plenty of ice melt on hand with signage to watch for ice.

Roz

Reaction score