What's new

D&S 5000 upgrade

ShineShed

Reaction score
Hey everyone thanks in advance to your feedback im new to the carwash business and could use some opinions. I have 1 wash location right now lookin to upgrade my 2000 D&S 5000 asap. Really lookin into complete i5000 system. Any thoughts on it? Def less moving parts to wear out better design. I can get a complete system used for $60k installed from my dealer i know new they are 100k he said. Would i be paying too much at 60k for a couple yr old refurbished i5000 gantry, pump station, and used stainless arches?? He said that comes with warranty, new sprockets, injectors and whatever else may be worn out.

soonermajic

Reaction score
I had an older unit, i didn't like it. Maybe new units are better. Ive seen some really busy, & some not.
If it works good, will create more business, then tear out & install for $60k isn't bad, as long as it has many new parts, a good warranty & it is total turn key

Last edited:

MEP001

Reaction score
Look hard into this person offering a "refurbished" machine. 60k sounds high for a used i5000. You can pick these up used for next to nothing, and for that price literally everything that moves should be new.

There was a local guy who was buying used Laser 4000 units for around $2,000 and selling them as "refurbished" for as much as $60k. All he did was paint the bridge with Krylon, or replace a few rusted bits to make it look new.

Jim64

Reaction score
I have one of each. The 5000i will save you money on water and chemicals Over the old 5000. The 5000i will not hold up as well, the gantry material is cheaply made compared to the old stainless gantry. If I was in the position to upgrade then I would spend the extra and buy a new IQ. It provides many more possibilities.

ShineShed

Reaction score