What's new

Considering building a new wash

LVWashGuy

Reaction score
Hello all,

Long time reader, first time posting. I've been considering building a new wash for some time now and since I'm fairly new at this, I'd like to hear some thoughts on the matter. First off, I'm thinking about IBA due to the low/ no employee requirement. I do realize the Express Tunnel model is where much of the industry growth is going; however, I'm not interested in having employees. So, the IBA lends itself nicely to this objective.

Some info and demographics:

Adjacent road: 15,000 cpd; nearest cross street: 20,000 cpd (~1/4 mile); nearby highway: 65,000 cpd (~1 mile).

Businesses: grocery, gas station, coffee shop, several small restaurants, large hospital doctor's office, park with ball fields and a dog park.

Population: 3 miles - 18,000; 5 miles - 61,000

Avg HH income: 3 miles - $129,000; 5 miles - $119,00

Wash competition: 3 miles - 1; 5 miles - 4

My question is this: since I'm new to the industry, will this location support a new wash? I tend to think it'll work nicely; but I'd like to hear from those that have more experience. Also, what type of annual revenue should/ could I expect? Let's say the wash will have two IBAs and probably one or two dog washes as well.

robert roman

Bob Roman
Reaction score
Site analysis for dual in-bay suggests frontage roads with average daily traffic count of 25,000 or more. Analysis also suggests site selection in areas with population of 30,000 or more within 3-miles.

So, based on these two factors alone, you might be disappointed with the expected annual revenue.

You may also want to re-consider employee requirements for the business model you described.

Dog washes get filthy. So, you need attendant that loves pets as well as people. Moreover, I don’t know of too many busy dual in-bays without an attendant.

“…..will this location support a new wash?”