What's new

Cat 310 pump Motor

mcarter1990

New member
Joined
Jun 13, 2022
Messages
18
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Hello Everyone,

One of my pump motors died today. Where is the best place to get a replacement motor from.

5hp
1phase
184 T Frame
1710 Rpm ------ Does that matter?
 

Attachments

MEP001

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
15,181
Reaction score
2,602
Points
113
Location
Texas
I get motors from a local supply place. Kleen-Rite sells the motor I use for $1,187 that I get for $360.
 

Randy

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
4,832
Reaction score
1,115
Points
113
Before I went out and bought a new motor I'd pull the bad motor out, take it a motor repair shop and have them look at it. It could be the start switch in the back of the motor or the capacitor. If the motor smells burned or smoked then look for a new motor.
 

mcarter1990

New member
Joined
Jun 13, 2022
Messages
18
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Yes a small clod of smoke blew out of it. So its toast....

So does it matter if the RPM are little more?
 

Randy

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
4,832
Reaction score
1,115
Points
113
Yes a small clod of smoke blew out of it. So its toast....

So does it matter if the RPM are little more?
My motors on my Cat 310 pumps are 3hp and they run at 1800 rpm
 

MEP001

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
15,181
Reaction score
2,602
Points
113
Location
Texas
You might want to stick with the 5 hp since it's single-phase.

The RPM will vary from 1700 to 1780 across brands. It's not a problem.
 

Toms PTcarwash

Active member
Joined
Sep 13, 2021
Messages
266
Reaction score
125
Points
43
Location
Landisville, Pennsylvania
You can do a 3hp motor at 1800 rpm on a 310 if you are under 1250 Psi (Verify on a cat pump curve chart if you are over 1250)
Just an FYI, a three-phase motor does not have a start switch or capacitor.
 

Toms PTcarwash

Active member
Joined
Sep 13, 2021
Messages
266
Reaction score
125
Points
43
Location
Landisville, Pennsylvania
You may also want to check the pump. A 5hp on a 310 should last pretty much forever. If the pump locked up, it may have smoked the motor. You should also have a motor starter with overload protection that would trip before the motor smokes. Some systems just use a contactor with no protection for the motor.
 

mcarter1990

New member
Joined
Jun 13, 2022
Messages
18
Reaction score
2
Points
3
The wash has been closed for about 3 yrs and I am just now starting to get the mechanical room functioning. I replaced the contactors on both motors one works the other fried. I am hoping to get it open by Thanksgiving. I hope....
 
  • Like
Reactions: sjb

Toms PTcarwash

Active member
Joined
Sep 13, 2021
Messages
266
Reaction score
125
Points
43
Location
Landisville, Pennsylvania
If you have just contactors and not motor starters, if you single phase a three-phase motor that is not protected, it can smoke pretty quickly.
Good luck to you!
 

MEP001

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
15,181
Reaction score
2,602
Points
113
Location
Texas
He's running single-phase motors. Perhaps you should read the first post.
 

cantbreak80

Maybe I need new clubs
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
907
Reaction score
271
Points
63
Location
CO
I prefer 5HP because my market area operators like to push the limits…
#6 spray tips at 1,300-1,400 psi = 3.5 to 3.8 GPM

Those numbers exceed the 3HP motor’s specs…
1,300psi x 3.5gpm = 4550 / 1460* = 3.11 HP required
1,400psi x 3.8gpm = 5320 / 1460* = 3.64 HP required
*Cat Pumps Handy Formula

Like Mep001, I’m fortunate to have several local motor shops to choose from. However, I’ve recently had to resort to buying from Grainer/Zoro ($$$$) and Supplyhouse.com ($$$).
 

mcarter1990

New member
Joined
Jun 13, 2022
Messages
18
Reaction score
2
Points
3
The motors are expensive but atleast they have free shipping.
 

Randy

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
4,832
Reaction score
1,115
Points
113
You can do a 3hp motor at 1800 rpm on a 310 if you are under 1250 Psi (Verify on a cat pump curve chart if you are over 1250)
Just an FYI, a three-phase motor does not have a start switch or capacitor.
I run my Cat-310 pumps at 1500 psi with a 3 hp 3 phase motor. I use a 1505 nozzle on the gun. They been running like that since 1982.
mcarter1990, do you have an update on your motor issue?
 

mcarter1990

New member
Joined
Jun 13, 2022
Messages
18
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Follow up:

I took the motor off and took it the shop in my town and found out it can be repaired. So I will have it back in a couple days.

But my question for the group is: I found a replacement 5 hp single phase motor but the RPM is 3450 which I need 1750 but what do I need to do to use this motor? Reason I am asking is I got this motor for free?

Thanks,
 

MEP001

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
15,181
Reaction score
2,602
Points
113
Location
Texas
You could use it with the right pulleys, but that could be a problem. You can only go so small on the motor or the belt won't grip well enough. To use the motor and only change one pulley you'd need a 16" on the pump. You could change the pump (or just the crankcase) to a short stroke model and use your current belt and pulleys.
 

Randy

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
4,832
Reaction score
1,115
Points
113
I think you got lucky with the motor that it's repairable. The max RPM of a Cat 310 pump is 950. You might have hard time getting the RPM's low enough to run the Cat 310 pump. Why not see if the local motor shop would give you a trade in on a proper 1750 rpm motor.
 
Top