What's new

Automatic Down time

californiacarwash

Reaction score
What would you say is the average down time of your Automatic Carwash and how long does it take you to get it back up in operation?

Waxman

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Between 1 hour and 1 day. I've never been down more than a day. I have a simple machine and a very good distributor. Between the 2 of us, we can fix many problems immediately.

lag

Reaction score
We make all repairs ourself , so we can be up fairly fast. 3 hours would be to long. If it is not busy we can leave one of them down overnite.

washme1

Reaction score
Many times I need a part from D & S overnite, as my distributor does not stock parts. Otherwise, if my distributor is in town the down time will usually be a few hours if I can't do the repair myself. I've been an operator for two years.

Buzzie8

Reaction score
When we first opened we didn't stock many parts and it seemed like everything went wrong on a Friday when a part could not be overnighted. Now we have a part in stock for almost everything. We ask our distributor how often does this part go bad and if he gives us any indication that it could be a problem we order two or replace the one we take out of stock. We still probably lose at least two days a year per auto bay. Also, always have replacement hoses. Crazy to lose business over a busted hose. Just my thoughts.

Fatboy769

Living the American Dream
Reaction score
I would say the max "down time" would be a couple hours on a rare occasion, most of that being customer stupidity. Once a year, we replace the majority of hoses, swivels and certain wiring on the machine. Anyone saying that they have no "down time" at all, I would say your full of $hit.

mmurra

Reaction score
Think of "down time" as nap time. We all need one now and then; automatics need them more often!

MEP001

Reaction score
Fatboy769 said:
Anyone saying that they have no "down time" at all, I would say your full of $hit.