What's new

Adding Automatic to 6 Bay self serve

CarWashGuy316

Reaction score
Im very new to the car wash business I only have about 2 years under my belt. I currently own 2 locations and Im wanting to stay competitive with the area and add an automatic bay to them. What I've been looking at is the touch free Razor and the Laser wash. Looking for any tips, help, ideas for making the best choices. What to add/ what not to add.

Anyone added to an existing self serve before? notice an uptick in new customers? decrease in self serve?

MEP001

Reaction score
Do you have plenty of space to spare in your equipment room? The machines you named require a lot of space inside for pump stand, chemicals, tanks, and controller.

MEP001

Reaction score
You might consider a good friction unit that has everything on board. The newer material that has replaced the filament brushes is much safer, the controls are better, you'll use a lot less chemical and a small fraction of the water, and some units don't have anything in the room.

A number of people on this forum who have both touchless and friction at the same location say their customers prefer the friction units.

Greg Pack

Wash Weenie
Reaction score
You're new to the IBA, so good local support is important. As far as the two brands mentioned: I don't have experience with either one, but you NEVER see a complaint about wash world user suport. I do see a lot of grumbling about PDQ.

I agree with friction being a solid choice, it's much easier to beat the dirt off a car. Your water can be hard and your chemicals weak and you will still likely deliver a pretty clean car. Not true with a touch free. But if youre surrounded by friction units at C stores and an express tunnel is in the market you may be better going for the touch free niche.

Reaction score